In the Admin Console, admins can set meetings to automatically delete after they are inactive for a specified number of days. A meeting becomes inactive when it’s not used for calls or chat in a specified period of time. You can set the number of days you want to keep a meeting after its last activity. To prevent unintentional deletion of inactive meetings and to improve the overall experience for our customers, Lifesize has made a few important changes to the meeting maintenance feature as described below.
- Set Meetings to Never Expire by Default for New Customer Accounts: For new accounts, the default expiry setting has changed from 90 days to zero. Setting the expiration interval to zero means the meetings will never expire. This change eliminates the risk of unintentionally deleting inactive meetings after 90 days and gives admins complete discretion to define the expiry setting that best fits their organization.
- Changed Meetings to Never Expire for Existing Customer Accounts: Lifesize has changed the inactive meeting interval for all existing Lifesize customers to zero, meaning they will never expire. This change was made as a result of a known issue causing meetings to never expire even if an expiration interval greater than zero was set. To avoid any risk of unintentionally deleting a meeting when we released a fix for this issue, we set each customer’s expiry setting to zero. Admins can update their expiry setting at any time to redefine the interval that best fits their organization.
- New Label Displayed for Meetings Expiring Soon: In the Admin Console, you’ll notice a new label next to your meetings that are expiring soon – making it easy for you to check the status at a glance. The label will display seven days in advance of the expiration date. If the expiration interval you set is less than seven, the label will appear on the exact number of days you set for the interval. Hovering over the label with your cursor will display the number of days until your inactive meeting expires.
- Additional Step to Verify Changes to Expiry Setting: We added a new step prompting admins to verify changes to the expiry interval before saving. The verification screen will display a list of meetings that will be deleted as a result of the change. For example, if changing your inactive interval from zero (never expire) to 60 days, any meeting that has been inactive for more than 60 days will be deleted as a result of the change. The verification step enables admins to review these meetings before deleting them.
- If you do not want to automatically delete your inactive meetings, then you don’t need to do anything. This has been set for you and your meetings are safe.
- If you do want your inactive meetings to expire, then an admin will need to adjust the meeting expiry setting. Go to the Admin Console and select the Meetings tab on the left. You can set the number of days, up to 365, to keep an inactive meeting before it expires and is deleted. If any meetings will be deleted as a result of the change, they will display during the verification step and you can choose to Cancel or Delete them upon saving the new interval.